Twitter

10/12/19

Retweetd From Harris Primary Academy Kenley

💻Owning mobile phones and smart devices can be fun, but it’s important to use it safely & responsibly. Follow ’s tips, to make sure you set up these devices securely, keep personal information private & enjoy using in the healthiest way.📱 https://t.co/NFygiayvmm

10/12/19

Retweetd From Harris Federation

"I frequently say to staff, 'I don't want you here after half past five'". Harris Fed Executive Principal George McMillan offers his tips for time management, in a short film for https://t.co/tzZ3j6eTNq

06/12/19

Retweetd From Charley Hasted

Fantastic question time with sixth form students at today. So many capable, erudite young people which a lot of amazing opinions and ideas. I genuinely think many of you are going to be leaders of the future in whatever fields you go into. Thanks for having me!

04/12/19

Retweetd From TOM44S #TeamLH

Matas Petrauskas year 7 presenting his drawing of Presidency Palace .To Lithuania First Lady Diana Nausediene https://t.co/qFtfLT0bk3

03/12/19

Retweetd From Charley Hasted

No honestly it was my absolute pleasure to meet such a passionate, well-informed, respectful and engaged group. They were a credit to themselves and the school and I look forward to coming back sometime.

03/12/19

Thanks for coming along and giving up your time. It was a great opportunity for our students to experience the political debate.

02/12/19

Retweetd From Harris Federation

So proud of Khadija and all the Harris students interviewed for today’s Times 2 https://t.co/ft7a5Twx9C

02/12/19

Retweetd From HAGRPE

Well done to Yr 9 girls rugby team, winning 4 out of their 6 games at their tournament today 🙌🏉 https://t.co/yQw4mL2Kaw

02/12/19

Retweetd From Soarpoints

“I can´t think of a better article with which to start the week - humanity, hope, forgiveness, positivity, potential and inspiration. The world is not all bad.” The students who made it to Oxbridge against the odds https://t.co/VSHIFLtooT

23/11/19

Retweetd From Greg Abbott

Never quit Never give up Overcome any challenge https://t.co/iVuAW0SY7a

21/11/19

Retweetd From HarrisSchoolDirect

Always a highlight of the training year - the fantastic session from George McMillan, Principal - ‘Behaviour management is a dance, learn the steps. Prep to be assertive’ https://t.co/XgkY2B7eWK

21/11/19

Retweetd From HarrisSchoolDirect

Great advice for trainees from our alumna, and Head of Humanities, Roisin from . Top tips to manage behaviour. https://t.co/F7tzr3tlTg

14/11/19

Retweetd From Harris Federation

Two Harris academies celebrated their official openings in Thurrock last week - opened its new building and marked the start of its 'exciting journey'. https://t.co/PEBSXTZ2ju

14/11/19

Thank you to for inviting us to their 2019 Leadership Symposium. It was a truly inspirational experience for our sixth form students to network with leaders from the food, drink and retail industry. https://t.co/KvFOtdflAz

11/11/19

Retweetd From Harris Academy Ockendon

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old. Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn. At the going down of the sun and in the morning We Will Remember Them.

07/11/19

Retweetd From Harris Academy Ockendon

Yesterday, our Academy was officially opened! This marks the start of our exciting journey which we are proud to share with our students and the community. Thank you to our special guests who attended, including Lord and Lady Harris, and Sir Moynihan. https://t.co/70S4m59z0h

03/11/19

Info.org.uk and mark FAO Mr McMillan and we’ll send it to the Exec.

01/11/19

Happy to help

31/10/19

Retweetd From Harris Federation Geography

Group 5 had some stunning views of the Amalfi coast yesterday 🌊 the group ended a great day with a competitive geography quiz! We’re now on our way to the airport ✈️#HFNaples https://t.co/VV2Sp5dn8W

29/10/19

Our kids just climbed Vesuvius. How’s your day going? https://t.co/BptML9hq5S

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notice, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Charging

Harris Academy Greenwich provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Head of School and Chair of Governors; where a request is made and agreed for extra intervention, e.g. Pet-Xi, but the student fails to turn up, unless the reason is reasonable to the Head of School and Chair of Governors
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product

Any request for a paper copy of information on our website will be provided free of charge.


Complaints

Our full complaints policy can be found further down the page, in summary:

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Head of School, Mr Ben Keely, at the Academy.

Please contact his PA:

Mrs Richardson
E-mail: m.richardson@harrisgreenwich.org.uk
Telephone: 0208 859 0133

If your complaint is about the Head of School then contact the chair of Governors via the clerk to Governors:

Mrs Sherry Wood

Email: Sherry.Wood@harrisfederation.org.uk

If you are a parent of a child with SEND and you have a complaint, please contact:

Mr Sofianos

Email: d.sofianos@harrisfgreenwich.org.uk


Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the annual report, annual audited accounts, memorandum of association, articles of association and funding agreement can be found here. The Academy’s own supplementary funding agreement can be found below. 

 

Back to Key Information